Entries Tagged as 'Older Elementary'

The Muppet Movie (1979)

April 5th, 2017 · No Comments · Movies

Review By JENNIFER KALI I was so happy to hear that the American Film Institute movie theatre near my home was running a Muppet retrospective. The Muppets were a huge part of my childhood, but haven’t been much a part of my kids’ lives. But with this retrospective, I set out to fix that shortcoming. […]

[Read more →]

Tags: ·······

Artemis, Wild Goddess of the Hunt

March 8th, 2017 · No Comments · Books

Review By KRISTIN WALD The ninth in the hugely popular George O’Connor OLYMPIANS series is here, and it’s a must-have for those who love the Greek Gods, and especially for fans of Artemis, Wild Goddess of the Hunt. This volume focuses on several of the most notorious and bloody stories in the Artemis myth. The re-telling, as […]

[Read more →]

Tags: ·····

Bats: Learning to Fly

February 1st, 2017 · No Comments · Books

Review By KRISTIN WALD The wonderfully fun and informative SCIENCE COMICS series, which has brought us exciting topics like coral reefs, dinosaurs, and volcanoes, is about to get a new addition: Bats: Learning to Fly. Infusing storytelling with sidebar information, author Falynn Koch tells the story of Little Brown, a bat who loses his way and is swatted away […]

[Read more →]

Tags: ··············

The Creepy Case Files of Margo Maloo

December 12th, 2016 · No Comments · Books

Review By KRISTIN WALD Putting an active spin on the Monster-In-The-Closet story, The Creepy Case Files of Margo Maloo, written and illustrated by Drew Weing, humanizes monsters and presents kids with challenging and irresistible adventures. Readers follow Charles, a reluctant transplant to Echo City, as he grumbles about his new home while discovering local secrets even longtime residents don’t […]

[Read more →]

Tags: ·······