Entries Tagged as 'Older Elementary'

Real Friends

April 17th, 2017 · No Comments · Books

Review By KRISTIN WALD The ups-and-downs of childhood friendships, the painful drama that ensues when treasured friendships change, and the various coping mechanisms children employ are on full display in Shannon Hale’s new graphic memoir Real Friends. Recommended for ages 8-12, the book will evoke discussion about friendship, kindness, being mean, and all the emotions wrapped up […]

[Read more →]

Tags: ······

The Muppet Movie (1979)

April 5th, 2017 · No Comments · Movies

Review By JENNIFER KALI I was so happy to hear that the American Film Institute movie theatre near my home was running a Muppet retrospective. The Muppets were a huge part of my childhood, but haven’t been much a part of my kids’ lives. But with this retrospective, I set out to fix that shortcoming. […]

[Read more →]

Tags: ·······

Artemis, Wild Goddess of the Hunt

March 8th, 2017 · No Comments · Books

Review By KRISTIN WALD The ninth in the hugely popular George O’Connor OLYMPIANS series is here, and it’s a must-have for those who love the Greek Gods, and especially for fans of Artemis, Wild Goddess of the Hunt. This volume focuses on several of the most notorious and bloody stories in the Artemis myth. The re-telling, as […]

[Read more →]

Tags: ·····

Bats: Learning to Fly

February 1st, 2017 · No Comments · Books

Review By KRISTIN WALD The wonderfully fun and informative SCIENCE COMICS series, which has brought us exciting topics like coral reefs, dinosaurs, and volcanoes, is about to get a new addition: Bats: Learning to Fly. Infusing storytelling with sidebar information, author Falynn Koch tells the story of Little Brown, a bat who loses his way and is swatted away […]

[Read more →]

Tags: ··············