Entries Tagged as 'Nonfiction'

Owen & Mzee: The True Story of a Remarkable Friendship

April 16th, 2016 · 1 Comment · Books

Review By JENNIFER KALI Fans of Tarra and Bella will love this book. My six-year-old daughter and I loved reading it together. It tells the true story of an unlikely friendship between a baby hippo named Owen and a 130 year old giant tortoise named Mzee at an animal sanctuary in Kenya, illustrated by incredible photographs […]

[

Tags: ·····

Noisy Bird Sing-Along

January 17th, 2016 · 1 Comment · Books

Review By KRISTIN WALD Most children learn that birds TWEET and occasionally QUACK. But John Himmelman’s Noisy Bird Sing-Along will expand their bird vocabulary with its fully illustrated pages. This is a colorful, fun, active book for children to practice bird sounds and to learn about different types of feathered friends. Every two-page section focuses on […]

[

Tags: ·····

Not a Nugget

November 18th, 2015 · No Comments · Books

Review by ROBYN MOORE Not a Nugget by Stephanie Dreyer (aka VeegMama) is a really sweet book that combines a dose of fun facts with a strong vegan message. Vegan books that are gentle, fun-spirited, informational, and toddler age-appropriate are hard to come by, but the author really accomplishes all this in her book. This […]

[

Tags: ················

I Am Abraham Lincoln (Ordinary People Change the World)

October 26th, 2015 · No Comments · Books

Review By JENNIFER KALI I’ve been interested in Brad Meltzer’s Ordinary People Change the World series since hearing about them on a local morning radio talk show. (Here’s a link; skip to the 5:47 mark.) Meltzer’s book series attempts to humanize American heroes to make them relatable and interesting to children. So I was happy […]

[

Tags: ········