The Muppet Movie (1979)

April 5th, 2017 · Movies

Girl holding a movie camera - stock image to accompany movie reviewReview By JENNIFER KALI

I was so happy to hear that the American Film Institute movie theatre near my home was running a Muppet retrospective. The Muppets were a huge part of my childhood, but haven’t been much a part of my kids’ lives. But with this retrospective, I set out to fix that shortcoming.

The first movie we attended was the original, “The Muppet Movie,” which came out in 1979. I was wondering how well this movie, now 37 years old, would hold up in modern society. I was happy to find that it holds up quite well. When we first meet the Electric Mayhem band, they are in the midst of turning an old country church into an organic coffee shop/night club, a scene that feels plucked from a movie today. In a very modern twist, gender roles are subverted when Miss Piggy saves her and Kermit’s life with her famous “Hiya!” chops and kicks. When Miss Piggy starts fighting, my 7-year-old daughter exclaimed, “Wow, she’s strong!” Later she said this was her favorite scene in the movie.

What I had forgotten about this movie was its source of conflict. The movie follows Kermit and Fozzie on their way to Hollywood to try to become famous. Along the way they are discovered by Doc Hopper, the owner of restaurant famous for its deep fried frog legs. Doc Hopper spends the entire movie trying to convince Kermit to star in commercials for his restaurant, something that Kermit describes as morally repugnant. My daughter talked about this storyline for days. I don’t think she was previously aware that people eat frog legs.

Common Sense Media recommends this movie to ages 6+, but I think 3+ is more appropriate. Both of my kids loved this movie. My daughter loved Miss Piggy. My 3-year-old son loved “that singing frog.” There are many jokes that 3-year-olds will not understand, but they will love the crazy characters and the singing and dancing. Older kids will understand the plot more and get more of the jokes. There is really not a wrong age to watch the Muppets.

→ No Comments

Tags: ·······

Artemis, Wild Goddess of the Hunt

March 8th, 2017 · Books

Review By KRISTIN WALD

The ninth in the hugely popular George O’Connor OLYMPIANS series is here, and it’s a must-have for those who love the Greek Gods, and especially for fans of Artemis, Wild Goddess of the Hunt. This volume focuses on several of the most notorious and bloody stories in the Artemis myth. The re-telling, as with the prior volumes, pulls no punches and holds true to the moral ambiguity of the Greek Gods.

9781626725225The narrator for much of the volume is Apollo, brother to Artemis. As narrator, he concentrates on three main tales: Niobe and her children, Actaeon and his temptation, and Orion and his friendship with Artemis. Despite the modern language and affect employed throughout, the stories are loyal to the classic myths, and the illustrations help tell the tales as well.

First time readers may be shocked at the violence in the stories about Artemis. One man is hunted by his own hounds, a mother loses her children to Artemis and Apollo’s arrows, and Artemis knowingly kills a potential love interest in her quest to stay unattached to a suitor. But these are classic myths retold, not embellished. And the illustrations support the story without dwelling on the gory details.

Animal loving readers will appreciate the attention to forest dwelling animals and the love Artemis has for them. However, the spotlight on hunting for sport and enjoyment, and the role animals play in the death in one of the stories can and should be discussed, especially with younger children. Again, for readers familiar with the Greek myths and the Olympians, this will be nothing new, but the smart and sharp treatment of the subject in this volume provides an opportunity for thoughtful notice.

As with the previous volumes, the focus is on one Olympian, but other characters appear and play variously significant roles. Children familiar with the past books will delight in seeing the developments with characters they already recognize and enjoy.

Artemis, Wild Goddess of the Hunt is an excellent addition to the Olympians series by George O’Connor.

Ages 8 to 12.

→ No Comments

Tags: ·····

Bats: Learning to Fly

February 1st, 2017 · Books

Review By KRISTIN WALD

The wonderfully fun and informative SCIENCE COMICS series, which has brought us exciting topics like coral reefs, dinosaurs, and volcanoes, is about to get a new addition: Bats: Learning to Fly. Infusing storytelling with sidebar information, author Falynn Koch tells the story of Little Brown, a bat who loses his way and is swatted away by a human and injured as the bat tries to feast on bugs. As we follow him to a rehabilitation center where he gets to know dozens of other bats and how he is similar and different from them all.

9781626724082

A lot of information is packed into this graphic novel. Little Brown’s journey allows us to learn about bats from all over the world, the dangers bats face from their environment and humans, how they help control insects and spread seeds, and how humans can be helpful and not harmful to the bats around us. Sidebars throughout the story, identified easily by different color backgrounds, give direct information related to Little Brown’s story. At times, the sidebars can be confusing to children unused to following graphic novel layout, but readers will quickly acclimate to the format.

Highlights in the book include sections about the Bracken Cave colony and the Congress Avenue bridge, both in Texas. The illustrations of various bat faces is fascinating, and you’ll catch readers returning to the page again and again. Little Brown’s realistic personality (sometimes vulnerable and inquisitive, other times defensive) will help readers relate to his journey and the things he learns.

Readers will learn about bats’ wing structure, use of echolocation (they don’t all use it!), where and how they sleep, how bats use their bodily functions to help grow trees and plants, and how they are able to stand being upside down for so long. There is plenty of detail for the casual bat fan as well as the bat aficionado. And besides that, there is a fun story for kids to follow.

Humans as a danger to bats is emphasized (although cats are a close second), but solutions are offered that will make us all better friends of bats. Tips are shared for hikers, homeowners, and tourists, and the end of the book gives great ideas about making or setting up your own bat box. Did you know that hikers can fool hibernating bats into thinking its spring merely by exploring a cave?

As with all the Science Comics books, there are suggestions for further reading and a glossary of important terms. This newest version, Bats: Learning to Fly, is a wonderful addition for its sense of humor, creative approach to learning, and reliably detailed and beautiful illustrations.

Bats: Learning to Fly, along with the entire Science Comics series, is highly recommended for ages 8-12.

The publisher provided a review copy.

→ No Comments

Tags: ··············

What’s an Apple? and What’s a Banana?

January 4th, 2017 · Books

Review By JENNIFER KALI

I received these two books from the publisher for review. They are cute books appropriate for a baby or young toddler.9781419721403

Each book is a silly celebration of the fruit in the title. The basic structure is the same for each. A bunch of silly things are proposed for each fruit–“You can wash it, try to squash it, or pretend that it’s a ball”–each with cute drawings of two children doing the action described. But in the end it is decided that to eat the fruit is best.

9781419721397

The books would make great baby gifts.

→ No Comments

Tags: ·······