Entries Tagged as 'Books'

Mighty Jack and the Goblin King

July 21st, 2017 · 4 Comments · Books

Review By KRISTIN WALD Mighty Jack and the Goblin King from Ben Hatke is a testament to adventurous storytelling and rich imagery. Opening with the same rush of action as the first book in the series, this second part of the adventure separates the friends and allows each character to find strength and courage on their own. […]

[Read more →]

Tags: ···

Dolphin Tale: The Junior Tale

May 30th, 2017 · No Comments · Books

Review By JENNIFER KALI My 7-year-old daughter has recently decided she wants to be a marine biologist, which is how we ended up reading Dolphin Tale together. Dolphin Tale, the junior novel, is based on the screenplay for the 2011 hit movie with the same name. Based on a true story, it tells of Winter […]

[Read more →]

Tags: ·······

Real Friends

April 17th, 2017 · No Comments · Books

Review By KRISTIN WALD The ups-and-downs of childhood friendships, the painful drama that ensues when treasured friendships change, and the various coping mechanisms children employ are on full display in Shannon Hale’s new graphic memoir Real Friends. Recommended for ages 8-12, the book will evoke discussion about friendship, kindness, being mean, and all the emotions wrapped up […]

[Read more →]

Tags: ······

Artemis, Wild Goddess of the Hunt

March 8th, 2017 · No Comments · Books

Review By KRISTIN WALD The ninth in the hugely popular George O’Connor OLYMPIANS series is here, and it’s a must-have for those who love the Greek Gods, and especially for fans of Artemis, Wild Goddess of the Hunt. This volume focuses on several of the most notorious and bloody stories in the Artemis myth. The re-telling, as […]

[Read more →]

Tags: ·····