Entries Tagged as 'Books'

Artemis, Wild Goddess of the Hunt

March 8th, 2017 · No Comments · Books

Review By KRISTIN WALD The ninth in the hugely popular George O’Connor OLYMPIANS series is here, and it’s a must-have for those who love the Greek Gods, and especially for fans of Artemis, Wild Goddess of the Hunt. This volume focuses on several of the most notorious and bloody stories in the Artemis myth. The re-telling, as […]

[Read more →]

Tags: ·····

Bats: Learning to Fly

February 1st, 2017 · No Comments · Books

Review By KRISTIN WALD The wonderfully fun and informative SCIENCE COMICS series, which has brought us exciting topics like coral reefs, dinosaurs, and volcanoes, is about to get a new addition: Bats: Learning to Fly. Infusing storytelling with sidebar information, author Falynn Koch tells the story of Little Brown, a bat who loses his way and is swatted away […]

[Read more →]

Tags: ··············

What’s an Apple? and What’s a Banana?

January 4th, 2017 · No Comments · Books

Review By JENNIFER KALI I received these two books from the publisher for review. They are cute books appropriate for a baby or young toddler. Each book is a silly celebration of the fruit in the title. The basic structure is the same for each. A bunch of silly things are proposed for each fruit–“You […]

[Read more →]

Tags: ·······

Yertle the Turtle

December 29th, 2016 · No Comments · Books

Review By JENNIFER KALI My three-year-old son has recently become interested in Dr. Seuss’s Yertle the Turtle, which seems appropriate in this political climate. My seven-year-old has even started asking to read it. It’s Dr. Seuss, but it seems more poignant than most of his stories. It’s the story of a turtle who is king […]

[Read more →]

Tags: ······